Gothic Lolita Surprise

4 Jan
Emilie Autumn

Emilie Autumn

one of the big attractions of music services like Last.FM and Pandora is the power of the genome approach :: the way songs can be classified and tagged to reflect tone and style, etc :: and even though not perfect and occasionally presenting a song which seems incorrect, most times there is a great result

one radio station on Last.FM that has started to surprise with a wide variety of high quality music is based on the Gothic Lolita tag :: along with obvious examples like Emilie Autumn, Jack Off Jill and Cocteau Twins, have been enjoying Moi dix Mois, AmaiDeath, Schwarz Stein and Kerli.

there are, of course, often Japanese bands included, which as well as providing a contrast of musical style, also leads to some great information and gothic lolita websites :: and one surprise was the increasing number of gothic metal songs, especially from many new cross-over bands like Moi dix Mois

2 Responses to “Gothic Lolita Surprise

  1. Nicola January 26, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    I worship Last.fm. I would have never discovered Emilie Autumn without it. Is it just me, or has the large surge of her popularity down solely to last.fm? All of her fans seem to come from there!

    I am yet to experience the great tag trick. They seem to take me to dark corners that I wished I had never heard. :(

  2. thor January 28, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    agreed – the tags can be misleading and so i have broadened my search to include “Female-fronted Metal” as well as “Women in Extreme Metal” and have found those to have a higher percentage of my favourites and my style preferences

Comments are closed.